An Answer on Adverbs

This isn’t an excuse, but let me put it out there; I was homeschooled. Dropped out of public school in third grade, didn’t do anything for about a year, then attended an alternate school that supplemented homeschooling. The experience was awesome and did wonders for me, but…

When I started writing people and editors would cut adverbs left and right. I didn’t know why. I’m not ashamed to admit it. I knew what an adverb was but I didn’t know why it was detrimental to my writing. No one explained to me. I never thought to harness the power of the internet and find out why adverbs were terrible.

Today I did.

Yes, I use the internet for good! I am enlightened.

http://www.novelr.com/2007/04/13/why-adverbs-suck

About Eloise J. Knapp

Eloise J. Knapp is an author and designer living in the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

