The Comedian: Suspenders, Holsters & Guns

Oh jeez, it’s Wednesday already!? As I sit here I realize I’ve been trying to do a blog once a week and, alas, today I had nothing profound or confrontational to write about.

Then I decided you really wanted to know about my Comedian cosplay—my first cosplay ever, actually—and was happy to oblige. I hope someone who wants to create their own Comedian cosplay will find some useful information here.

Who is this guy? The Comedian, aka Eddie Blake, is a character from the comic book series and movie Watchmen. Behold!
The-Comedian-watchmen-23939655-1088-1450

Cool, eh? Yeah, I know. After coming to terms with the fact that I won’t be able to recreate everything exactly how I want to, and researching a billion things, I’m finally making good progress. Today I wanted to talk about the holsters, suspenders, and guns that I found for the look. Here is where I’m at so far:

Don't laugh, this is only the beginning... ;]

Don’t laugh, this is only the beginning… ;]

TC wears leather, load bearing suspenders. I found almost identical suspenders online, but they were way out of my budget. I decided to find an alternative. Making my own was an option, but I wanted something I could use for my zombie gear, too, that was useable.

I found these Blackhawk suspenders on Amazon. I paid $32 for them. They’re amazing. Sturdy, black, and look how I want them to. They do not come with a belt, but I already had a tactical belt that I hooked them to.

Next, the thigh holsters. Again, couldn’t get leather. Didn’t want to craft them because I want to use these things again someday. I found these holsters on Amazon for only about $10 each. Be sure to get a left holsters and a right holster. For the price, these holsters are surprisingly well made. There is no way I could’ve made them for less than I bought them.

Last, the guns. Oh boy. I spent a lot of time looking for the right gun. I think TC uses some kind of .45, but I decided to compromise and get something that looked right even if it wasn’t technically correct. Air soft guns can be extremely expensive, but the the ones I found seemed to be fairly reasonable and were the right combination of silver and black. They are .50 cal, but they fit in the holsters perfectly and look amazing. I plan on repainting the silver so it appears more chrome/metallic looking. Once I slap a smilie face sticker on the handles, they’ll be spot on.
WP_20130128_001

Next time I’ll be discussing the plastic I’m going to use for the left shoulder and construction technique.

About Eloise J. Knapp

Eloise J. Knapp is an author and designer living in the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

