Half-Life HEV Suit Cosplay- Part 2

Moving on from the research phase, and now entering production phase! Here is a video on my first missteps with the whole process. I also wanted to use these blogs as a way to post useful information and links for you guys in case you ever want to do this. It’s crazy how fast I end up spending an hour or two here and there lurking in the depths of the internet to find information, so at least I can put my favorites folder to some use. Plus then I can have this later for quick reference!

 

Useful Links

This blog is by the guys that made that amazing Half-Life fan video a while ago. They have a ton of great info on how they made their suit.

This is the link to Pepakura, which gives you the patterns to create paper versions of armor. This link is a direct link to the HEV suit pattern. You have to have Pepakura installed to view it.

This link is to a forum post a guy made on how he preps/coats his foam before painting. I haven’t tried it yet, but it is what I’m going to do once I get to the painting phase. The post is 1170.

This forum thread is a pretty complete build log by a guy who made a good suit. He mentions some useful stuff on how he sized his thigh pieces to fit him better. I did what he did today; the pep file is way waaaaaay to wide, so you’ll definitely need to consider that.

This forum thread has some useful tips scattered throughout it, as well as the entire pep pattern built with resin applied to almost all of it (useful to see it built).

My Progress & Plan

 IMG_20140128_230942

I made the entire right bracer with 110lb cardstock, Krazy Glue, and a little hot glue. This is the first thing I made to get a feel for it.  I used the super glue on most of it, but on the tiny tricky parts I used a dab of hot glue since it secures faster than super glue. I would never use hot glue for the whole thing since it is so bulky.

My plan is to do pepakura and resin for the bracers and potentially the chest piece. I’ll be doing foam on the thighs, probably the bicep pieces. Not sure about the shin guards yet, because I have no idea how I’ll get my foot through it once it is totally built (my hand barely gets through the opening in the arm bracer).

Anyway, feeling pretty good about what I have so far! Going to refine my thigh pieces, make a video on it, then do a post update about it. Need to get more foam before proceeding.

About Eloise J. Knapp

Eloise J. Knapp is an author and designer living in the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Cosplay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half-Life HEV Suit Cosplay- Part 2

  1. Pingback: Half-Life HEV Suit Cosplay- Part 3 | Zomblog

  2. Pingback: Half-Life HEV Suit Cosplay- Part 4 | Zomblog

  3. Pingback: Half-Life HEV Suit Cosplay- Part 5 (Painting) | Zomblog

  4. Pingback: Half-Life HEV Suit Cosplay- Part 6 | knapocalypse

Leave a Reply

