Final Lady Ozymandias Cosplay

10

“I don’t mind being the smartest man in the world, I just wish it wasn’t this one.”

This cosplay was a lot of fun to do. It was my first time using L200 (or Y2) foam, and also my first time putting a wig on someone. The only part of this cosplay I never ended up doing were the gold accents on the shoes, but the rest is pretty great! Here is a quick breakdown of how I did it. Don’t forget to check out the video version of this post for more info!

The Basics & Fabric
She has on a gold bodysuit. It was a Zentai suit and then I cut off the head, hands, and feet. For the rest of the fabric items, I used cheap white fabric to get the right shapes and create patterns. Then I sewed the final products.

IMG_1358

1

She has on a purple tube dress I sewed in about five minutes, then a purple tunic. This is all made out of the same purple knit I got from fabric.com. The cape is made out of the same fabric, attached to the tunic and body suit with safety pins. All of the edges are turned under and sewed.

The Gold Armor6 I built the shoulder piece, belt, forearm bracers, and headband out of L200 foam. I made the patterns first out of paper to ensure the shape was right, then cut it out of L200. At the time I used hot glue to piece them together, but I would HIGHLY discourage that now and recommend Contact Cement! The detailing is done with craft foam and more L200.

IMG_1363

 

The photo above shows the basic forms of foam armor before any detail was added. Looks kind of funny, eh?

2

After all the details were added, from there I sealed the pieces with Mod Podge, applied PlastiDip, then spray paint, then a high gloss clear sealer.

4

Wig & Other Details
The wig is from International Wigs. This site looks kind of sketchy, but I’ve ordered three wigs from them and only had one minor shipping delay.

Britt has a TON of hair, but it wasn’t that hard to put it up. I used a ton of bobby pins and slowly wrapped all her hair around her head, pinning as I went, until it pretty much was even. I then applied the cap, wig, and used wig tape to secure it. Rest assured, even if you have a ton of thick hair you can still effectively pin it back! Patience and tons of bobby pins are key.

hair

The makeup is very simple. Just foundation, eyebrows, a bit of purple and gold eye shadow to define the eyes, mascara, and some lip gloss. She also has purple nails.

8

I bought some heels that looked kind of similar to Ozymandias’ and spray painted them purple.

3

That’s it! If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

About Eloise J. Knapp

Eloise J. Knapp is an author and designer living in the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Cosplay and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final Lady Ozymandias Cosplay

  1. Patricia says:

    I’m currently working on this cosplay, and I have some questions about the fabric. How much did you use? Do you have any templates?

    • I just bought enough yards to make the tunic and cape. For my cousin who is pretty small, it ended up being about three yards I think? And there was extra left over. I don’t have any templates. It ended up being really easy just to drape the fabric around her and go from there. Hope your cosplay turns out awesome!

Leave a Reply

