The Lake: Entry 1

Before you go any further, know these stories will likely contain spoilers for Pulse: Genesis and Pulse: Retaliation. If you’ve read through Retaliation, you’re good! Between now and Pulse 3, which will take place years after Pulse 2, I have something kind of cool for you. These are journal entries from Dom during his time at The Lake. One will be posted bi-weekly and I have about 10 ready to go. I’ve always wanted to do a journal style series, but not a whole book, so this is a perfect outlet.

Think of this as a supplement to the Anisakis Nova series. You’ll get a sneak preview of some of the nasty parasite developments to be found in Pulse 3, and also track the progress of some of the last uninfected humans trying to survive and rebuild.

Anyway, hope you enjoy!

thelake

920
The very first night we set up the tents and built a bonfire, Jim gave me this journal. Old Dom would’ve laughed and thanked him with no intention of ever using it. I’m not the kind of person who journals and I also dislike confrontation. But when I think about what we have to do here, what we’re trying to do, I realize this might be useful some day. If the uninfected human species survives the parasite, years from now they’ll want to know how we did it. What it took, what our struggles were. Maybe even they’ll make a movie about it and someone will play me.

Okay, wishful thinking and I’m getting ahead of myself. I’m acting like Jim giving me the journal was a long time ago, but really it was only a few days. This is my first entry. I hope I’m doing okay. I’m not sure where to start. In fact, now that I’m questioning myself I feel really stupid.

Who journals? I guess someone needs to write an account of Anisakis Nova, how it started, how we tried to fight it. I’ll do that somewhere else, maybe another time. To be honest, none of us know that much beyond our first hand experience and what we remember was on TV.

So far everyone has found a spot to set up their tents. We’re close to each other but far away enough that there’s privacy. I can tell privacy is going to be important going forward. Sometimes it seems like people are already sick of each other. That worries me.

For now we’re in the woods just outside of the lake. We might build our home here. It seems like a nice area with tall, strong pine trees everywhere and a good view of the surrounding area. Chelsea would’ve hated that we’re going to cut them down.

Yesterday Magnus and Anthony built an outhouse about a 100 yards from the camp. It was an all day project but the thing looks amazing. They built walls out of split trees they fell. It has a window and a door. The roof was crafted out of wood then covered with tarp. We’ve had a few hot days and on those days we leave it uncovered, otherwise the thing stinks.

Everyone was excited about it. Really excited. The small things make people very happy. The kids, who don’t have many things to do as of yet, decided to gather stones to outline a path all the way to it. Good for them.

What weighs most on me is food. Matt is still devastated by the loss of the van. We all tell him it wasn’t his fault. There was nothing he could do. But he keeps saying, “I could’ve stopped them from merging in front of me.”

But the fact is we’ve lost about 70% of the food we intended to bring and we’re already feeling it. Beth makes soup every day, mostly water based with a few things floating around. We could eat heartier than that, but we have no idea how we’re going to come by food so we have to make what we have last.

Magnus is taking anyone who is interested to learn how to fish. I’ve never done it before, but if I want to eat more than watery corn and pea soup, I’d better get to it.

I haven’t told anyone, and I’m not going to, but this week I’m going to hike back down to the truck to listen to the radio again. I want to know where we stand against the infected. The group agreed we weren’t ever coming back down and I felt bad when I did it the first time. I need to know.

I need to know if anyone is still alive.

dash

Went to the truck. I wish I hadn’t.

About Eloise J. Knapp

Eloise J. Knapp is an author and designer living in the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

