The Lake: Entry 2

Before you go any further, know these stories will likely contain spoilers for Pulse: Genesis and Pulse: Retaliation. This is a supplemental series of journal entries between Pulse 2 and Pulse 3.

thelake

923

Fishing is amazing. Why haven’t I done it before?

Jim and Magnus, both fishing since they were kids, marveled at how bountiful the lake was. All of us caught at least one fish. Jim got 3. Little lake trout. We ate them for dinner that night and they were amazing. Nights like this everything feels like it’s going to be okay.

It was cold last night. Not unbearable, I think it is technically still summer, but I can feel really feel fall now. This week we’re going to start cutting down trees to build cabins. The plan is two build two big enough to accommodate everyone, then from there make smaller ones for families if weather and resources allow.

I’ve read the book on cabin building three times now. The trick is good, straight logs and notching them correctly. I’ll admit, I’m excited to start building. I need something to occupy my time. All my free time means I wallow in my memories. I think about the parasite a lot, the time I almost lost Chelsea. The time I did lose her. The time I lost Brian. Everything I’ve seen. Some days that makes me want to work harder to make this work. Others it makes me want to give up more than ever.

That’s depressing. Really fucking depressing, I’m sorry. Let’s turn this around.

The Lake will feel more like home once we have houses to live in, that’s for certain. We’ve been scoping out and marking the trees we’ll cut down. Magnus and Anthony are certain they can build them quickly, but I’m skeptical. If we’re missing something or a tool breaks, we’re screwed. It’s not like we can drive down to Home Depot and grab replacements.

I wish Chelsea could’ve been here. I can’t talk to anyone about it because no one really knew her. They say they’re sorry and ask if I want to talk, but what would I say? Just thinking about her makes me tear up. She was my light. She made this whole thing worth trying. She grounded me.

Anyway, Beth uses the fish bones to make fish broth and that makes the soup a lot better. Never considered myself a seafood (or lakefood?) fan until now. Honestly, if there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s that in a survival situation, you don’t look a gift horse in the mouth. Any food is food. Be grateful. Clean water? Perfect, stop complaining.

I feel bad for the people who stayed in cities hoping the government would save them. Obviously I don’t personally know each person that makes up The Government, but I do know they were people. They probably thought they could save us all. They wanted to. The thing is, the parasite was too big for anyone to stop. I’m not sure anything could’ve been done differently.

I’ll stop now. Need to get some rest. I imagine cutting down trees is going be hard.

About Eloise J. Knapp

Eloise J. Knapp hails from Seattle and never complains about the rain. She works in the videogame industry by day and is a post-apocalyptic horror author by night. Knapp's work includes The Undead Situation trilogy, ANAMNESIS, and the Anisakis Nova series. When not writing you'll find her hiking the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

